Department of Community Medicine

The department of community medicine is headed by Prof. Dr. Tajammal Mustafa. The faculty comprises three Assistant Professors, six Demonstrators and one Health Educator. The major responsibility of the department is to teach the subject of community medicine to fourth year MBBS students. The areas covered include principles of public health, strategies for the prevention and control of communicable and non communicable diseases. In order to equip students with the necessary knowledge and skills to conduct epidemiological research, students are given an overview of epidemiological methods, biostatistics and research methodology. Students learn the application of these methods by conducting a research study (in group) under the supervision of faculty. For practical training, field visits are conducted to public health importance. At the completion of the courses students are expected to be self directed learners.

The faculty provides consultation and technical support on study design, grant proposal writing, questionnaire design, data collection and analyses and report writing to postgraduate students and faculty. The faculty also actively participates in the activities of department of medical education, provides consultation to governmental and non-governmental agencies on public health issues. The community medicine department also seeks research funding by submitting research proposals to various funding agencies. The department has taken initiative for the establishment of a research center in the University and start of postgraduate teaching /training programs in public health ( community medicine).


Dr. Zarabia Pervaiz Butt

Assistant Professor

    Dr. Asima Asif 
  Dr. Ali Sarfaraz



Dr. Robina Aslam



    Dr. Ifleen Asghar

Health Educator

    Ms. Rubab Iram
Masters in Sociology, International Relations